Skillz

Inspired Bicycles – Danny MacAskill April 2009.

This video highlights something I love to see in any field: quiet skill. It immediately made me think of Rodney Mullen. My favorite thing about him is how much he loves the simple mechanics of skateboarding. What he does with a board is never X-TREME, it’s just so skilled. I can’t praise this enough, whether your a skater, musician, electrician, gardener, etc. A well developed skill, so long as it is not maligned, is one of the most worthwhile things I can think of.

Nick and I were talking about this in music recently, when you can see someone so steeped in knowledge that most anything they do is a well-informed, well-executed display of skill. That’s what I want to see. Tom Waits comes to mind. Steve Martin, Ian MacKellan, Thomas Pynchon, Richard Feynman, Carrot Top…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

