“I decline all offers to petition motherfuckers for my humanity.”

That quote is from Ta-Nehisi Coates, a writer over at The Atlantic. If you haven’t heard of him I can’t recommend enough that you check out his blog. Dude has been nailing it for me lately. He writes very openly, thoughtfully, and with tons of grammar errors. I love it.

But the quote above sums up what I’ve been thinking, feeling, and acting upon for the past six months or so, which is to be self-sufficiently happy. He’s referring to how he no longer feels the need to defend his blackness or hip hop’s social/cultural value, among other things. I completely agree. Nick and I were discussing living honest, practical lives and how I believe it’s the best thing a person can do. To quote him, it should matter more that you make it a point to live well daily than to show up for the rally. To not need a social cause to attach your strength to, to not need that sort of encouragement. That’s an individualism and independence I could get behind.

    • Jeff
    • July 15th, 2010

    That’s something I truly believe in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

